LAMDA and UCAS Points

As the table below shows there is now a big incentive for any student, whether they are studying Drama at school or not, to do a LAMDA exam. A young person can take a Grade 6 (sometimes as young as 13) and earn 12 UCAS points. By the time they do a Grade 8 they can earn nearly the equivalent of an A-Level (30 UCAS points). This table now reflects the new UCAS points tariff which uses a much lower points system than the old UCAS tariff.


Table of UCAS Points for Graded LAMDA Examinations in Verse and Prose and Acting


Attainment LevelLAMDA Grade 6LAMDA Grade 7LAMDA Grade 8LAMDA PCertLAM


D = Distinction (80%)
M = Merit (65%)
P = Pass (50%)

Rosie – Year 10

“I have been doing LAMDA exam work for 4 years, and I feel that it has improved my confidence a lot. I just got 75 UCAS points for a Distinction in my Grade 8 Acting exam.”

Mr Nigel Home; Head Master, Bendarroch School

“Gerald is a very gifted, very energetic, very inspirational teacher, greatly liked and respected by all at our school teachers, pupils and their parents.”

Stuart – Year 11

“LAMDA has helped me gain confidence in my acting and my singing, through vocal exercises and character analysis. I enjoy LAMDA greatly.”

Parent – Harbertonford

“Our daughter has been taught by Gerald and Lucia from Year 5 to Year 10. She has recently achieved Grade 6 Acting but the benefits extend beyond the grades. Drama lessons have enhanced her confidence at all levels. I would recommend LAMDA drama lessons to all.”

Tel: 01803 840196

Website by: